September 09, 2011

Six new members have joined the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra as Trustees for the 50th Anniversary 2011/2012 Season. They are:

Barbara Bellack, community volunteer; Faye Currie, Vice-President/Branch Manager, CFG Community Bank; David Huggins, International Minerals Consultant; Laird Lott, Project Director/Logistics, US Postal Operations, RCI, Inc.; Joseph Rubino, Director, Governmental Affairs for USNA; and Jeff Voigt, Senior Vice-President, Investments, Wells Fargo.

ASO Officers for the upcoming season are: John S. Goldthwait, Jr., vice president, M&T Bank, Chairman; Harley E. Flack, founder and CEO, Flack Ventures, vice chair for Orchestra; Russell B. Stevenson, Jr., vice chair for Finance/Treasurer, president and chairman, Chesapeake Legal Alliance; and Laurie Berman, community volunteer, secretary.

Returning to the ASO Board as Trustees are: Jesse Boyd, first vice president, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management; Martha O. Blaxall, economic consultant and community volunteer; Michael Canet, founding member, Prostatis Financial Advisors Group, llc.; C. Richard D’Amato, attorney and former Anne Arundel County Delegate;  Patricia Edwards, ASO Executive Director emerita; Al From, principal, The From Company and founder of the Democratic Leadership Council; Julie Grudzinskas, associate director, Center for Drug Development Science, School of Pharmacy and Medicine, UCSF; Kathryn O’Leary Higgins, president, The Higgins Company; Jonathan P. Kagan, Partner, Baldwin, Kagan & Gormley; Peter Martino, CEO, Capital Teas; Allison L. Patrick, vice president, business development, SRA International, Inc.;  Joyce E. Pratt, former Strategy Analyst, Lockheed Martin Corporation; Barbara Santos, community volunteer; Connie Scott, community volunteer; Karen W. Smith, former COO, National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future; Carolyn Sullivan, Owner, PR People; and Susan F. Thaxton, consultant.

The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, now celebrating its 50th Anniversary season, is recognized as the largest and most distinguished performing arts organization in Anne Arundel County. Under the artistic leadership of Music Director, José-Luis Novo, it performs Classic, Pops, Family, and special gala concerts and events each year.

The ASO is resident at the Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts in Annapolis. It also sponsors numerous award-winning education concerts and outreach programs in community schools, sharing the joy of music making with thousands of school children.

For more information, please contact Katharene Snavely, Executive Director, ASO, at 410 269-1132 or by email to