January 06, 2011

For Immediate Release                                                      
January 6, 2011
Contact: Katharene Snavely
Phone:  410-269-1132    

ANNAPOLIS, MD -- Violinist Elena Urioste, one of today’s most extraordinary emerging musical artists, will be showcased in ASO’s next performance, Pure Artistry, on February 18 and 19, 2011 at 8:00pm at Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts.  Performing with the ASO, Ms. Urioste will play the Felix Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E Minor, which is considered one of the greatest violin concertos of all time.  Conducted by Music Director José-Luis Novo, this concert will showcase the sublime artistry of the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra and the importance of the arts in our community.  Additional repertoire on the program includes Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 in G Minor along with Maurice Ravel’s Pavane for a Dead Princess and John Harbison’s The Most Often Used Chords.

Violinist Elena Urioste has been hailed by both critics and audiences for her lush tone, the nuanced lyricism of her playing, and her commanding stage presence.  Her debut with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 2010 was praised by critics for her "hypnotic delicacy," "expressive poise," and "lyrical sensitivity."

Since first appearing with the Philadelphia Orchestra at age thirteen, Elena has performed with major orchestras throughout the U.S.  She is a two-time winner of the prestigious Sphinx Competition and winner of the Sion-Valais International Violin Competition.  She plays a distinguished 1706 Gagliano violin from Naples, on loan from the private collection of Annapolitan, Dr. Charles E. King.

The concert program opens with The Most Often Used Chords, a whimsical composition by John Harbison, a previous recipient of the prestigious MacArthur “Genius” Grant.  The Mendelssohn Concerto follows. Considered one of the most daring and innovative composition of its time, The Mendelssohn Violin Concerto is now one of the great staples of the violin repertory.  After Ravel’s rich and nostalgic Pavane for a Dead Princess, the program concludes with the Mozart symphony.

Tickets are priced from $25 with student tickets available for just $10.  Tickets can be purchased through the ASO Box Office at 410-263-0907 or online at www.annapolissymphony.org.

All ticket holders are invited to a free and informative pre-concert lecture in the auditorium starting at 6.45pm. These entertaining talks, led by British pianist and musicologist Dr. Rachel Franklin, enhance the concert experience by providing historical and insightful perspectives on the music to be played.  Lectures are sponsored by Bank of America.

# # #

Photos available of Elena Urioste and the ASO.

The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra is supported in part by the Arts Council of Anne Arundel County, and the Maryland State Arts Council, an agency dedicated to cultivating a vibrant cultural community where the arts thrive.  Funding for the Maryland State Arts Council is also provided by the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency, which believes that a great nation deserves a great art.