February 25, 2010

For Immediate Release                                                      
February 22, 2010
Contact: Bill Martin
Phone:  410-269-1132    

ANNAPOLIS, MD – The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra will celebrate the arrival of Spring with its performances of Spring Awakenings on March 26 and 27.  The concerts will feature acclaimed violinist Elissa Lee Koljonen, in Erich Korngold’s lush Concerto for Violin.  Music Director José-Luis Novo also leads the ASO in Mahler’s Blumine, Johann Strauss Jr.'s Voices of Spring Waltzes, and Robert Schumann’s “Spring” Symphony.  Performances are on Friday and Saturday, March 26 and 27, at 8:00pm at Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts.  Tickets are $34-$44 with $10 seats available for students ages 8-25.

Recognized as one of the most celebrated violinists of her generation, Elissa Lee Koljonen has thrilled audiences and critics in over a hundred cities throughout the world.  Ms. Koljonen first received international acclaim when she became the first recipient of the prestigious Henryk Szeryng Foundation Award and silver medalist of the Carl Flesch International Violin Competition.  Her playing has been lauded by the Helsingin Sanomat as "sparkling, sensual and personal."  Dan Tucker of the Chicago Tribune writes, "She displayed boundless technique and musicianship," and reports the Detroit News, "..Koljonen brings to her playing not just assured technique but unflinching purpose and confidence."

The ASO is proud to participate again in two programs benefitting the Maryland community.  In partnership with the Anne Arundel County Food Bank, the ASO is participating in Orchestras Feeding America, and will be collecting non-perishable food items throughout March and at the March 26-27 concerts.  Last year the ASO collected over 1,100 pounds of food items to donate and benefit families in need.

The ASO is also participating in Arts Step Up In Support of State Employees.  All Maryland state employees are offered a “Buy One, Get One Free” ticket offer valid for the 2009-2010 season.

Now in his fifth season as Music Director of the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, José-Luis Novo is one of Spain's most exciting conductors.  Mr. Novo has previously served as Assistant Conductor of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra, and is in his sixth season as Music Director of the Binghamton Philharmonic (NY).  He has also held the positions of Music Director of the Cincinnati Symphony Youth Orchestra, the Oxford Chamber Orchestra (Ohio), and the Miami University Symphony Orchestra, Associate Conductor of the National Repertory Orchestra, and Assistant Conductor of the National Youth Orchestra of Spain and the Yale Symphony Orchestra.  Since 1999 he has been a Resident Conductor at the Eastern Music Festival in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Concert-goers may also attend the ASO’s educational and entertaining Bank of America Pre-Concert Lecture Series, featuring pianist and musicologist Dr. Rachel Franklin at 6:45pm before each performance.  Single tickets to the ASO’s Lexus Classic Series are $34-$44 for adults, and $10 for students ages 8 to 25.  FlexPass packages are also available, allowing music lovers to purchase three or four concerts at a discount and enjoy the flexibility to choose concerts that fit their schedule.  For further information and to order tickets, call the ASO Box Office at 410-263-0907 or visit and order online at www.annapolissymphony.org.


Photo of violinist Elissa Lee Koljonen will follow in a separate email.

Photos of José-Luis Novo and the ASO are available upon request.